Skip to content

“I admire your discipline.”

July 6, 2016

“Wow, vegan. That’s amazing. I could never do that; I admire your discipline.”

I have very little discipline. I weigh 30 pounds more than I should. Being vegan requires absolutely no discipline at all. I am not vegan for my health or the environment; the benefits to both are a happy side effect of my veganism. I’m vegan because I love animals…not just cats and dogs, all animals. I became vegetarian because when I started learning about modern animal agriculture, about the way we treat farmed animals, I became very, very uncomfortable with what – or rather whom – I was eating.

Then I visited a farm sanctuary and met dozens of formerly commodified animals. It was so plain to see that they were smart and curious, engaged in their world, and I felt privileged that they so easily let me into it. It was immediately obvious what remarkable individuals they are. Every single one of them had a name and their own personality, had friends and preferences and moods. I couldn’t see farmed animals the same way after that; I saw them the same way I see cats and dogs. (In fact, I saw them the same way I see people, only better; animals don’t have the objectionable qualities of so many humans.)

Esther

Esther the Wonder Pig (Photo: Happily Ever Esther Farm Sanctuary)

 

World-renowned photographer and animal advocate Jo-Anne McArthur has said “Once you start seeing, you can’t stop,” and it’s true. It changes everything. I don’t see a chicken breast, I see a body part of an animal just like Cinnamon, for example, a cheeky, friendly hen who lives at Skylands Animal Sanctuary & Rescue. Where some see a pork chop or bacon, I see part of the chubby leg of Marge, a joyful and outgoing pig who lives at Farm Sanctuary — or Esther the Wonder Pig, whose enormous and funny personality has become known worldwide. Once you begin to see who animals are, you can’t close your eyes again, and that’s a good thing. I gave up nothing when I became vegan (which I too once said I couldn’t imagine doing); on the contrary, I gained in ways I can hardly begin to put into words.

Emma&Jackson

Emma & Jackson (Photo: Skylands Animal Sanctuary & Rescue)

Is it challenging to become vegan? At first, a bit — you’re forming new habits and turning your back on familiar ones you’ve had all your life. It requires a little effort as you become a label-reader, and perhaps suss out some non-animal versions of foods to replace the ones your taste buds miss. But it’s not hard. I don’t love ice cream or cheese more than I love Emma and Jackson, a beautiful dairy cow and her son who would both be dead by now (and would have suffered horrifically) had they not been rescued. And that equally applies to goats and sheep: they are treated just as badly as dairy cows and I’m lucky to have many goats and sheep in my life whom I love, every one of them no different than a dog or a cat.

When you really take in the misery, the fear and pain and loss that farmed animals endure, it’s impossible to enjoy a steak or an egg or a hunk of cheese. If you wouldn’t crowd, confine, mutilate, or beat a cat or dog, why is a pig or a chicken any different? I can’t justify what is really outright torture because I happen to like the taste of something.

So no, being vegan does not require discipline. At its simplest, it’s just a choice you make.

Clarabelle

Clarabelle at Farm Sanctuary

Comments are closed.

