Skip to content

Why Being Vegan Shouldn’t be Seen as a Lifestyle for Only Some of Us

September 3, 2016

I’ve recently become acquainted with Barbara LaRue, a fellow animal rights blogger (who posts much more frequently than I!). She’s really well worth reading. Here’s her latest.

Mercy for all Animals

turkey being hugged

I hear it often and I know it’s meant as an acknowledgement of how I define myself, but having compassion for animals and therefore being vegan shouldn’t be thought of as only for a small group of people who have an unusual affinity for animals.

Most human beings have at least some sympathy for other living beings and will not deliberately do them harm.

If compassion for animals was simply something that was unique to a minority of humans, a quality that makes one person or thing different from another (like very strong artistic talent or musical ability), it would be useless to try to persuade others to at least consider why they would want to go vegan.

Vegans come from every walk of life, every age group, every color, gender and even political viewpoint (although I surmise most vegans lean a little left politically).

Those who’ve gone vegan after realizing…

View original post 150 more words

2 Comments
  1. September 4, 2016 9:56 am

    Thank you for reblogging! 🙂

Comments are closed.

